The 3 Biggest Obstacles of my Whole30

You’ve heard me raving about how great the Whole30 is. But that doesn’t change the fact that its HARD!! If I could narrow it down to the 3 biggest struggles I had. It was with keeping up with food prep, kicking the sugar cravings, and having a social life.

Don’t tell me to chop another vegetable.

Staying on top of all the food prepping was a challenge. If it were just me, I think I could keep up. But my husband Paul eats twice as much as I can!  I had to cook in bulk and always be thinking ahead to the next few days’ meals. There were days when I didn’t feel like chopping more vegetables or cooking my next meal. I just wanted to eat convenience food or be served at a restaurant. I didn’t want to wash dishes and put away more Tupperware.

The struggle was worth it though.

I felt in control and healthier than ever. I was confident that everything I put in my body was being put toward a greater purpose: better health and vitality.   I could FEEL the difference in my body. Knowing that the work I put in was worth it made it easier to do.

What do you mean I can’t have dessert?

Part of the Whole30 is learning to tame your sugar cravings and kick the addiction to those foods you can’t stop eating. So, that means you shouldn’t eat anything “dessert like” for 30 days. When you eat anything resembling dessert, it triggers an emotional and hormonal response that creates irresistible cravings. Your body goes into a state of stress when you have to fight those cravings, making it even harder to have will power.

Sugar is addicting.

It doesn’t even have to be refined sugar, we literally crave sweets in any form. After lunch and dinner, I would typically have some fruit and nuts (a great combination!) as a “treat”. I knew that this was breaking the Whole30 rules, but I couldn’t seem to stop myself… a tell tale sign that it SHOULD be stopped.

I’ll take my burger with no bun, no cheese, no sauce, and no flavor.

When you  have to be super picky about what you eat, going out doesn’t seem very appealing.(The burger thing is a joke though, I love a good burger on a salad.)  But I found myself opting to stay home, rather than to face temptation. I pushed off lunch dates and get togethers and hibernated for 30 days. I don’t think that this is any way to live your life, though.  And it IS possible to go out to a restaurant and remain compliant to the Whole30.  It might just take a little planning.

And then there is the alcohol factor.

I know that there are some social occasions that it is straight up hard to pass it up.  Its easier to just tell your friends that you aren’t feeling well than to explain to them that you are trying to improve your health.  But I’ve learned that I don’t need to have a drink to have fun.  Once I spent an wedding and reception drinking only soda water and a splash of cranberry juice.  It was one of the most fun weddings I can remember. 😉

This is a learning experience, and I’m giving it another go. I’m determined to gain control over my sweet tooth after dinner and pay closer attention to how my body responds. In my next post I am going to give you more reasons to try the Whole30 for yourself.

About

A sense of purpose gives us an internal desire to change and improve ourselves. It is my mission to instill within my clients a powerful reason to improve their health and well being as well as their fitness level. To achieve this, my programs are personalized and tailored to each individual and include the necessary tools, education, and motivation for men and women of all ages from beginner to advanced levels. It is my goal to help my clients reach their highest potential through scientifically proven methods of exercise, nutrition, and positive lifestyle modification.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Nutrition

Leave a Reply

