When you want to give up

If I had a dollar for every time I wanted to give up… I wouldn’t have to worry about finances again.

It’s hard to face the fact that life is hard… that you aren’t always going to live up to your expectations. And if you are like me, you set your expectations so high that you hardly ever give yourself a chance to reach them.

Disappointment sucks. It leaves you feeling deflated, uninspired, and embarrassed. So how do you recover and get back on the wagon? How do you pick yourself back up again and forget about your recent failure?

Let me tell you about a recent “failure” of mine.

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to do a live audition with the worship team at my church. Singing with the worship team has been a dream of mine since the day I stepped into my first service. I was totally confident and hardly nervous… until I started singing and realized that I didn’t know the song as well as I thought I did. I blew it. I was off tempo and only a few of my notes sounded decent. My audition was hardly a rendition of what I know I can do. I was embarrassed. Worst of all… I was completely disappointed in myself.

Have you ever fell on your face after having such high hopes to begin with?

Lets say you are starting a new diet and workout program. You are promised incredible results that will change your life… yet two weeks into the program you find yourself in the cookie jar at 1am. Talk about letting yourself down.

Yep, I’ve been there too.

What I’ve realized about disappointment, after repeatedly letting it tear me apart…

It’s all about the perspective you take.

Look back in time for a moment. Analyze where you started, and all of the hurdles you had to maneuver to get here. Look at the facts, the proof, and the promise that is always preceding the present.

This is likely not your first rodeo. I can bet you have some experience that you are already building upon. If you slipped on your diet and feel like you’ve failed… take a look at what you have overcome so far. Find some proof from the past that you have reason to believe in yourself.

You are farther along on this journey than you even realize.

I can’t expect to know every worship song by heart in the short amount of time I’ve attended church here. My expectations were definitely too high. Every family and friend that has heard me sing insists that I have a gift and I need to share it. I have been singing in choirs my entire life, so I know that I have the ability and the knowledge (even if it’s a little dusty). I’ve already come so far. Sending in my initial audition video was scary, but I did it anyway. Going to my first rehearsal with the team was uncomfortable, but I made it through. Learning the music and getting on stage for a live service is going to take work. So I better get practicing.

Don’t be disappointed in the face of what FEELS like a failure. Remember to LOOK BACK. Remember what you have already accomplished, and what you have learned so far. Remember when you overcame those first hurdles and how scary they felt… and realize that they really weren’t scary at all. Accept the hard truth that achieving what you want in life is HARD. But the facts all point to possible. Roll up your sleeves and get back to work.

So when you want to give up, when you want to beat yourself up for not living up to your own expectations… meet yourself with compassion. You can’t move forward without taking a few steps back once in a while. Your mistakes are what make you stronger. They are what teach you valuable lessons and drive you to work harder.

Keep moving forward. And never give up. You are closer to success than you think.

About

A sense of purpose gives us an internal desire to change and improve ourselves. It is my mission to instill within my clients a powerful reason to improve their health and well being as well as their fitness level. To achieve this, my programs are personalized and tailored to each individual and include the necessary tools, education, and motivation for men and women of all ages from beginner to advanced levels. It is my goal to help my clients reach their highest potential through scientifically proven methods of exercise, nutrition, and positive lifestyle modification.

Posted in Motivation

Leave a Reply

